Award for Arts Achievement and Excellence

At its annual conference, the International Council for Arts Deans may honor an individual or organization that has demonstrated significant advancement or support of the arts on an international, national or regional scale. The recipient who has contributed significantly toward the advocacy, support, visibility or creativity within the arts is selected by the ICFAD Board of Directors.

The honor includes an award created by a local artist and a $1,000 contribution to an artist or arts organization chosen by the award recipient.

Please click on the recipient’s name to read more information about the award recipient, the award itself, and the recipient of the financial contribution.

2023 in San Juan, Puerto Rico: Awilda Sterling Duprey, interdisciplinary visual artist

2022 in the binational region of San Diego, California and Tijuana, Baja California - Mexico: Chicano Park Museum and Cultural Center

2021 in Richmond, Virginia: Edwin Slipek, art historian

2019 in Austin, Texas: Louis Black, co-founder of The Austin Chronicle and SXSW

2018 in Seattle, Washington: Seattle Children’s Theatre

2017 in Halifax, Nova Scotia: Ursula Johnson, visual artist

2016 in Grand Rapids:  Rick De Vos, ArtPrize Founder

2015 in Atlanta: Pearl Cleage, author and playwright

2010 in Sarasota:  Scott Shanklin-Peterson, former Senior Deputy Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts

2009 in Salt Lake City: Beverly Taylor Sorenson, arts education advocate

2008 in Portland: Libby Appel, Artistic Director Emerita of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival

2007 in Charleston: The Honorable Joseph P. Riley, Jr., former Mayor of Charleston; and Mary Jackson, a noted sweetgrass basket maker and MacArthur Fellow.