Board & Staff

Members of the Board of Directors serve as representatives of the membership, assuring that the organization runs in accordance with the agreed upon mission, policies and laws of the membership. 

Election of Officers and Directors 2023

The Nominating Committee of the International Council of Fine Arts Deans presents this slate of officers and directors for election, in accordance with election procedures outlined in the Council's bylaws. 

The electronic ballot was e-mailed to each Institutional Member of the International Council of Fine Arts Deans in July. Institutional members who did not already receive a ballot electronically may request one from [email protected]The election will close at Noon Eastern Time, September 22, 2023.

Results of the election will be announced at the Annual Business Meeting, and will be distributed electronically the same afternoon. The Annual Business Meeting is being held at ICFAD's 59th Annual Conference on Friday, September 29, 2023 in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Executive Committee 

President Nancy Uscher

Dean, College of Fine Arts
University of Nevada Las Vegas

Secretary James Frazier

Dean, College of Fine Arts
Florida State University

Treasurer Laura Franklin  (re-elected: 2022 – 2025)

Provost of Academic Affairs, College of Humanities, Fine Arts and Communications
Lewis University

Immediate Past President Jean Miller

Dean, Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts
Illinois State University


Board of Directors (2019-2022, extended to 2023)

Board Member John W. Scheib

(completing a term vacated by a retiring board member)
Associate Vice President for the Arts and Dean, College of Fine Arts
University of Utah

Board Member Royce Smith

Dean, College of the Arts
California State University

Board of Directors (2021-2024)

Board Member Sarah Bay-Cheng

Dean, School of the Arts, Media, Performance & Design
York University

Board Member Eileen Strempel

Inaugural Dean, Herb Alpert School of Music

Board of Directors (2022-2025)

Board Member Sabrina Madison-Cannon

Phyllis and Andrew Berwick Dean, School of Music and Dance
University of Oregon

Executive Director Alison Pruitt