Ballot and Candidate Profiles 2019 

The Nominating Committee proposes the following slate for ICFAD Secretary 
and Member-at-Large positions on the ICFAD Board of Directors.

Please click on each candidate’s name, to see the candidate’s statement. Please click on each candidate’s university name, to see the candidate’s bio and photo.

ICFAD Secretary. Please vote for one. 

Dan Guyette, Dean, College of Fine Arts, Western Michigan University 
Nancy Uscher, Dean, College of Fine Arts, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

The office of Secretary will place the Secretary in position to become the automatic nominee for the office of the President-Elect, assuming that they have served as Secretary with distinction and is a member in good standing. Since the Secretary serves as an officer on the Executive Committee, they must be an institutional member representative and have a notable record of service in ICFAD as a member-at-large of the Board of Directors.

Director-at-Large. Please vote for two.

James Frazier, Dean, College of Fine Arts, Florida State University
Janet Hethorn, Dean, College of the Arts and Media, Central Michigan University
Chuck O'Connor, Dean, Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Todd Queen, Dean, College of Music and Dramatic Arts, Louisana State University
Al Romero, Dean, Weissman School of Arts and Sciences, Baruch College, CUNY
Royce W. Smith, Dean, College of Arts and Architecture, Montana State University
Noel ZahlerDean, Talkington College of Visual and Performing Arts, Texas Tech University

The partial term of office of Al Romero, Dean, Weismann School of Arts and Sciences at Baruch College, City University of New York, will expire this fall with the 56th Annual Conference in Austin, TX. 

The full term of office of Michael Tick, Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts, Syracuse University, will expire this fall with the 56th Annual Conference in Austin, TX.

The two candidates for director who receive the highest number of votes will be elected to fill these two seats carrying three-year terms from 2019-2022.

In the event that an individual currently serving as a board member is elected as Secretary, the candidate with the third highest number of votes at election will be invited to complete that board member's term.

Additionally, the two candidates receiving the next two highest number of votes will be elected to serve the remaining single year of three-year terms of board members Susan Picinich, Dean, College of Fine Arts and Communication at Towson University, who is retiring as Dean and joining the teaching faculty in the Department of Theatre Arts, and Charles Wright, former Dean of Academic Affairs at Kendall College of Art and Design at Ferris State University.


Proposed amendments to association bylaws were disseminated to members in accordance to association bylaws.

__ approve

__ do not approve

The election will be held at the 56th Annual Conference as part of the Annual Business Meeting and in accordance with election procedures outlined in the Council’s bylaws.

The Annual Meeting of the International Council of Fine Arts Deans 
Friday, October 4, 2019 

12:45 p.m. 
AT&T Conference Center at the University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas

ICFAD Nominating Committee

John Crawford-Spinelli, Dean, College of the Arts, Kent State University - Committee Chair
Cyrus Parker-Jeanette, Dean, College of the Arts, California State University Long Beach 
(appointed by ICFAD Past President George Sparks)
Raymond Tymas-Jones, President, Cornish College of the Arts